why do women wear mascara?

Seriously.  What’s the point?  What is goal of putting some foreign substance on your eyelashes?  Think about it.  Is there a prize for best eyelashes?  Does it garner a better salary? Does it allow you to make delectable pizza or instantly know how to dance the merengue? I don’t get it.  I know all those TV and girly mag ads promise perfect, long, luxurious eyeleshes…but why do you want that?  By the way, and this is from the viewer perspective, I have yet to see an application of mascara that didn’t look at least a little bit clumpy, and others look like the eyelashes were scraped across the gunky crankcase of an old Buick.  I’ve been told it’s part of the whole eye accoutrement package, the holy trinity of mascara/liner/shadow.  One rant at a time please.

Now if you really go off the deep end you can go the Sephora route and look like an extra from The Walking Dead.

Some things are just a mystery…

18 Comments

Filed under marketing, women

18 responses to “why do women wear mascara?

  1. *raises hand*
    I don’t own mascara, or any other make-up for that matter, so i never wear it. i just have no interest in shellacking my face with the latest high gloss, impermeable, colored sealers. didja ever notice the ads all make it sound like you are detailing a car with the crap yer supposed to paint all over your face?

  2. I own mascara, but the tube is probably a few years old. I rarely wear much makeup at all. It’s too much of a hassle, I end up looking like a raccoon. Most days I go out in public with nothing so I can properly scare people.

  3. I don’t get it either. I am a wash and wear women. If people think I’m unattractive w/o make up it’s their issue not mine.

  4. There is a real reason for it as it is meant to mimic the slightly bruised look women’s eyelids get with arousal and therefore more attractive to the opposite sex. That it has now become just one more unessential decoration sort of defeats the purpose.

  5. I’m a natural ginger, which means my body and facial hair have ZERO pigment. I paint everything on.

    Lining of the eyes (kohl) and rosy-ing the lips are (as stated above) to mimic arousal (if the PBS documentary I watched in the early 90s was right).

    Why do most American women pretty themselves up–today? Depends. Some women are taught by their mothers that they cannot leave the house without it (my mother was a model and beauty queen in her day). Some women do it SOLELY to attract men — I’ve known women who NEVER wear makeup unless “they’re on the make.” Some women feel deeply insecure about their appearance (I do and I’ll say more below) and find CONFIDENCE from having a “finished appearance.” What makes “finished” for one lady and not another is open. I don’t watch TV or follow celebrities but I know one woman who only “follows the looks” of female celebrities. She’d never do ANYTHING makeup or clothing-wise that she didn’t see on a celebrity first. While I find that sad, come to find, it’s very NORMAL or a lot of women say the same thing (maybe this is why celebrity “news” is closely followed…people are trying to “see” what they should do? Scary thought).

    When I go out, say with hair fixed and no makeup, I’m treated poorly by WOMEN. I find men generally are nice to me with or without makeup — so long as I’m DRESSED well (not “workout” or “farm” clothes) and my hair is done. Fact is, there are a lot of women I have to encounter and I prefer to not be ignored when I require their services and I don’t like being treated like dogshit when they do give me attention. I’m not joking. I got my hair done recently and was treated abominably — by the women in the salon. I could’ve left but the point was: I needed a proper, “harder than chain place to create” haircut. My girl was in Europe for 2 months. I made the terrible mistake of walking into a “female zone” with only minimum makeup, a clean tshirt and skirt. I’d forgotten that when knowingly going into a battle, I should be in full combat attire–including full makeup.

    I was taught to not leave the house without being made up (cultural, as in you’re a “lady”) and I wear a lot of makeup, probably because it’s what left from whittling down decades after being a punk lolita (I was a “baby punk” hanging with the real dudes–rough childhood). Part of wearing so much then was as camouflage (I was walking into clubs in areas most didn’t dare and I was a CHILD) and then rolled into a “style” by the time I was say 15 or 16.

    I wear less now but I don’t feel like “myself” without “my style.”

    I don’t care if people like it or not. If you like my sense of humor, great. If you don’t like my eyeliner, fuck off. That said, if I’m going to Cedar Hill to take the tractor in for work, I wear a different costume: no makeup and farmhand clothing. Even though I’m from “deeper in the hills” than a hamlet such as CH, they get nervous by “a Lady” which I’m considered when dressed as I would be to go to town. It’s societal and personal.

    • Awesome response. Thanx. I wasn’t thinking about the female-female reactions and impacts, and being a Jersey-ite and seeing first hand the “Jersey Shore” impact with the focus on salon’s makeup and nails – and the amount of women that think what is portrayed is normal – I can see what a pain in the ass that can be.

      • Bearing in mind, I live in OUTstate, MO, the coasts would cringe at how gauche and ungirly I am but I’m considered “very” girlie/ ladylike (except for the swearing and whiskey, which I try to hide from the public).

      • coast or midwest….no one elses opinion really matters….as for swearing and whiskey….rock on…

  6. I was a naive kid and this would have made the “out of the mouth of babes” list had I ever said this aloud. Not knowing about models on the front pages of magazines, I thought that the brand name Cover Girl was truth in advertising as their products covered the person who used them.

    Bill

  7. Dead Chicks ROCK!!!!!

    (As long as they don’t start to stinkin…Thanks for visiting)

  8. Cooper this is one of the posts that comes up when you hit like. I hadn’t seen it before.

    I don’t wear mascara, although 26 years ago when I first got married I did. But I rub my eyes a lot; my husband suggested I stop wearing it because I looked like an abused woman.

Leave a Reply

