Code Blue

sedate by ~resqben on deviantART
OK. They’ve hooked me back up to my Thorazine drip so I’m a bit more chilled out tonight. I’m a little stressed out in general, even without watching the media fear mongers, because so many changes are taking place over the next couple weeks.
First and foremost – I’m walking away from a 17 year career in IT next Friday. Yep. Closing the door and not coming back. The kiblings are now grown and out on their own, forging their own unique paths in the world…and doing a damn fine job if I do say so. Couldn’t be prouder of both of them. So that leaves the door more than ajar to venture out of the world of the corporate greedheads, at least directly, and march forward to some new drums. That statement alone is not without it’s…well, not irony…let’s say amusement.
First and foremost – oh, I said that already – anyway. I’m going to take 3 – 4 months off and finish the novel I’ve been pounding on for quite some time. Those of you who knew me before I imploded and erased myself out of cyberworld existence know that I was a 2005 NaNoWriMo winner – and I’m taking that mass of words and crafting a novel that may or may not bear any resemblance to the original blog. I’m 150 pages into a first draft…shooting for another hundred as long as the characters can handle it. I should pay homage to the lovely Ms Kate for getting me into NaNoWriMo in the first place.
Aside from that I’m going to worm music back into my existence by taking a recording studio engineering course at a local studio – who knows – maybe someday I’ll be a famous producer and meet the likes of..oh, I don’t know…Ashlee Simpson. Geez – even typing her name makes me want to take a shower.
So needless to say, going from a sizable income to NO income is a tad nerve wracking, especially for the other half. Guess I’ll have to stop all those lavish business lunches at Subway and Quiznos and rekindle my taste for PBJ (on rye of course – there is no other way). Either that for fight the dog to see who gets the most kibble….

5 Comments

Filed under life, writing

5 responses to “Code Blue

  1. Pauline

    Hi, just wandered over from Snowelf’s. I got out of the rat race years ago, but I didn’t have kids to consider. Sometimes the lack of cash can still get a bit worrying but there are so many things that we are conditioned to ‘need’ that we really don’t need at all – it’s just a case of making slight adjustments sometimes. On the plus side it is SO GREAT to get off that treadmill and have the time to do things that matter to yourself ENJOY and good luck!

  2. KFarmer

    I jumped out of the race some months ago- It takes a bit of adjusting, but it’s well worth the effort.

    Good luck with your book- I hope you sell a zillion. I’m new to your blog- am an avid reader- what kind of story is it?

  3. snowelf

    Cooper, I think it’s so inspiring of you to step out and pursue your dreams!!

    It’s also good to know I have a friend worth 2.16 million–if times get tough, just sell yourself on eBay!!!

    best wishes for a happier future!

    –snow

  4. Flash

    I love that picture….so deep….so mysterious………And best of luck with the career change.

  5. katehopeeden

    I can hardly take credit for you being a brilliant author my dear ๐Ÿ™‚
    I have to say, I’ve never seen anyone jump so wholeheartedly into NaNoWriMo though ๐Ÿ™‚
    Congrats on the newfound approach on life ๐Ÿ™‚ And lots of luck for finishing the novel! I hope one day to finish one myself ๐Ÿ™‚
    ~K

Leave a Reply

