Stuck

OK. I know I’m supposed to be writing right now but I’m stuck (seems to be a weekly occurrence) and even though I am still at the library, I figure I’ll write something rather than stare at the last paragraph wondering what the characters are going to do next.

I’ve learned that there are two basic approached to writing a novel. I’m sure there are thousands of derivations as there is no right or wrong way and every author has their own style. But in general the approach can be lumped into two exceedingly broad categories:
  1. Create well developed characters and throw them in a situation, letting the story write itself,
  2. Do tons of research, write a detailed plot outline – essentially plan everything before putting pen to paper.
I’ve tried the latter and it didn’t do much for me, granted that was 7 -10 years ago and I may not have been ready to tackle anything large at that point. So sometimes I write my characters into a whole, especially now in the latter stages when the protagonist is struggling to put all the pieces together. I keep them tripping over their own feet. I’m also a bit bored with a new character I’ve introduced – at first I thought he would be nice as a grandfather type but he need to be much more eccentric. Originally I thought he might be the bad guy but I’ve backed off that and am pinning the rap on someone else – I think. We’ll see how it all works out.
7 Comments

Filed under writing

7 responses to “Stuck

  1. lime

    i think you should have some marshmallow fluff. fluff in hot cocoa or a good ole fluffer nutter sammich should help. ๐Ÿ™‚

    in seriousness this guy may be of assitance in the writing process. he has a series of posts about novel writing.

  2. Cooper

    LOL – no, that’s ok. I’m psychic – I knew where you meant. Thanx.

    Mmmmmm….Fluffernutter….AGAHAGAHAGAHAGAHAGAHAG

  3. Darkneuro

    I say go with what works for so many writers… Don’t worry if it takes you 8 hours to come up with the word ‘the’… come up with the word. A little every day.

  4. Cooper

    Thanx…I eventually got going yesterday and wrote some ripping stuff…

  5. jillie

    I have to give you credit for even attempting the novel. I’m lucky if I can even think of anything to blog about or comment…UGH!

    ;o)

  6. snowelf

    I have to make my characters first and then the story writes itself for me. I think it’s more fun to watch the characters take on a life of their own. But I like to write blindly like that–it’s not for everyone. And it’s much easier to get…well…stuck! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Wishing you inspiration!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    –snow

  7. Snow White

    Hmmmm… I know I left a comment here yesterday… Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

Leave a Reply

