Asinine

I found this at Voice of Freedom‘s blog. Let’s regulate everything. First let’s define ‘obese’. Will every restaurant have to have a weigh-in before you can be served? Oh that will surely boost business….

JACKSON, Miss. – A state lawmaker wants to ban restaurants from serving food to obese customers — but please, don’t be offended. He says he never even expected his plan to become law.

I was trying to shed a little light on the number one problem in Mississippi,” said Republican Rep. John Read of Gautier, who acknowledges that at 5-foot-11 and 230 pounds, he’d probably have a tough time under his own bill.

…Al Stamps, who owns a restaurant in Jackson, said it is “absurd” for the state to consider telling him which customers he can’t serve. He and his wife, Kim, do a bustling lunch business at Cool Al’s, which serves big burgers – beef or veggie – and specialty foods like “Sassy Momma Sweet Potato Fries.”

“There is a better way to deal with health issues than to impose those kind of regulations,” Al Stamps said. “I’m sorry – you can’t do it by treating adults like children and telling them what they can and cannot eat.”

4 Comments

Filed under america, food, health care, news

4 responses to “Asinine

  1. Little Wing

    I want “Sassy Momma Sweet Potato Fries.”!!!!!!!!
    Yep, I agree a stupid, asinine idea!
    Get the govornment out of my fries!!!!!!!

  2. Marci B.

    Is there no end to the insanity? If I want a Beef and Cheddar at Arby’s (as I mention in today’s post), then, gosh darn it, I am going to have my frickin’ Beef and Cheddar!!!!

    Phew – thanks for letting me get that out 🙂

  3. Cooper

    To celebrate I had a large Waffle fries at Chik-Fil-A – yum..

Leave a Reply

