Be A Kid Again…

1. Do a cartwheel.
2. Sing into your hairbrush.
3. Walk barefoot in wet grass.
4. Play a song you like really loud, over and over.
5. Dot all your “i”’s with smiley faces.
6. Read the funnies. Throw the rest of the paper away.
7. Dunk your cookies.
8. Play a game where you make up the rules as you go along.
9. Step carefully over sidewalk cracks.
10. Change into some play clothes.
11. Try to get someone to trade you a better sandwich.
12. Eat ice cream for breakfast.
13. Kiss a frog, just in case.
14. Blow the wrapper off a straw.
15. Have someone read you a story.
16. Find some pretty stones and save them.
17. Wear your favorite shirt with you favorite pants even if they don’t match.
18. Take a running jump over a big puddle.
19. Get someone to buy you something you really don’t need.
20. Hide your vegetables under your napkin.
21. Stay up past your bedtime.
22. Eat dessert first.
23. Fuss a little, then take a nap.
24. Wear red gym shoes.
25. Put way too much sugar on your cereal.
26. Make cool screeching noises every time you turn a corner.
27. Giggle a lot for no reason.
28. Give yourself a gold star for everything you do today.

6 Comments

Filed under children, life

6 responses to “Be A Kid Again…

  1. Bill

    #2 – Never had a hairbrush. Tried to play a comb with a piece of waxed paper. Sucked at it.

    #3 – We used to to do that. Mom tried to break us of the practice by saying that strange dogs will come and lick our feet. We still went barefooted, but I was scared of dogs for many years afterward.

    #4 – My Junior year in college, I finally made enough money to buy a good receiver and speakers. After setting everything up, I tuned to my favorite classic rock station and they were playing “Limelight” by Rush. The system sounded much better than I was expecting it to and I cranked it way up to share it with my neighbors. Since then, I would always cristen a new stereo (home or car) or after setting it back up after a move by playing Limelight loudly. Sometime after that, I added “The Chase” from the soundtrack of Midnight Express to the ritual.

    #8 – Fizzbin: Each player gets six cards, except for the player on the dealer’s right, who gets seven. The second card is turned up, except on Tuesdays. That had to be my favorite episode of TOS.

    #12 – With chopsticks.

    #16 – Shells too.

    #21 – Like right now?

    #25 – When we were kids, we would eat the white of hard-boiled eggs, then smash the yolks in a bowl, mixing it with some milk, sugar and instant baby cereal. Were we wierd or what?

    Bill

  2. this made me smile, and i need that this week. thanks. * plucks a bunch of dandelions and wild violets to give you a thank you bouquet.

  3. jwcooper3

    Bill: remind me never to have breakfast at your house. Ice cream with chopsticks? Not bad..will have to try it…

    Lime: smile…nothing lasts forever…

  4. damn.. i think i may need to grow up.. lol…
    but we do these silly things alot for and with Kira. She is an only child, so things like after bath air guitars are not uncommon. hehe

  5. Wow. That explains my day. I blame it on my hairstyle. I didn’t have time to wash my hair, so I wore pigtails. I had sporadic giggling fits all day.

  6. You forgot…

    Spit on the biggest piece of cake.

    Give your little brother a wedgie.

    Stand shoulder to shoulder and see who can pee the farthest.

    Make farts with your armpits.

    Great big gobs of greasy grimy gopher guts
    Concentrated birdy butts
    Mutilated monkey nuts
    One big jar of all purpose porpoise piss
    And me without my spoon.

    XOXOX,

    Rip

Leave a Reply

