Blah

That about sums it up.  There’s a lot going on, which is a good thing.  Some of what is occurring, tho, sort of shakes my faith in my fellow homo sapiens.  Each little thing is kind of innocuous in and of itself (well, most of it is) but looking across the board I get the feeling that as a species we’ve slipped down the hole and it’s every man and woman for themselves. It’s as if life is both raging at Mach 1 and has slowed to a turtle crawl at the same time.  I know that’s incongruous but that’s the way it feels.

For example, someone stole a tomato. I know, what’s the big deal, but we live in a townhouse so having a garden is not high on the list.  The Mrs. bought a right good looking tomato plant, potted it and has been nurturing the little sucker for awhile.  We have about eight green tomatoes on the little sucker but we had one fat juicy one just starting to redden on top.  We went out yesterday and the big one was gone.  It definitely was not eaten by an animal, no seeds, no remnants…it was picked.  And it was the only one picked.  All the others remain intact even two days later.  Why?  I guess respect for others has dwindled to below zero.

Also, a trusted professional with whom we’ve been associated for over ten years got their hand caught in the cookie jar and has been indicted and may serve time.  Great.  Just great.

Makes me want to drive to Montana (or wherever it was), find the Unabomber’s abandoned shack and spend my days in peaceful seclusion.  Unacooper.  That’s got a good media ring to it…

11 Comments

Filed under life

11 responses to “Blah

  1. those sorts of things do pile up after a while. i recommend the secluded shack until you feel a little better. actually i recommend a secluded beach more, but whatever works to get you back on track.

  2. It is not too late to put up a sign: “Not for human consumption, contaminated with salmonella.” Unfortunately, the original thief already knows it is not true…

    A long time ago, when I lived in an apartment, I had a problem with someone stealing my Sunday newspaper. My brother, who was always good with snappy responses, made the perfect suggestion. One Sunday morning thereafter, after I was awoken by the “THUMP!” of the paper hitting the front door, I got up, retrieved my paper and replaced it with the one from the previous Sunday…carefully rolled back up and slid into the plastic bag…after being laced with raw fat removed from chicken before cooking dinner the night before. The thief found a different victim the following week.

    Bill

  3. I am so sorry to hear about the tomato. I felt that way during the first few weeks that I had my own car. I was so excited to finally have a car of my very own, and I really wanted to take good care of it. One morning, I go outside, and someone has clearly smashed off the driver’s side mirror – the whole thing is just dangling there. I mean, that must have been quite an impact! No note, no nothing. I just have to deal with the damage all alone. People suck sometimes.

    Luckily, there are enough good ones out there to take most of the pain away.

  4. That’s just ignorant! Stealing tomatoes! It does prove that some humans have really sunk to a new low.

  5. Often of late, I’ve found things missing from the farm and it worries me. I wonder if I just imagined that I had a nice juicy tomato or pepper one day to find it missing the next? I’m thinking mouse trap. The old kind that “SNAPS!” really hard..

    If given the opportunity, I’m bugging out. Even The Farm is getting a bit “close” if you knows what I means… I suggest the same for you if possible.

    My dad had a wonderful trick for some teenage boys who were stealing his pony Millers… He sat at the kitchen table, drank the beer, filled it back up, put the top back on, put them back in the fridge and waited… They only stole his beer ONE more time and never came back for thirds… imagine that? Hee hee hee…

  6. jwcooper3

    Thanx all for your words…and suggestions…I love creative solutions – Bill & KFarm – LOL – outstanding.

    Lime: secluded beach…that would work just fine

    Marci – I have to remember that there ARE good ones out there. Good advice…

    Andrea – I was thinking that I could turn it into a short story – a whole group of people living in the sewers stealing veggies to survive…I Am Tofu…or something like that…

  7. Marci – that happened to me once too, but with a somewhat different outcome. A couple of days later, a teenaged boy from the neighborhood was at my door offering to pay for my mirror. His right arm was in a cast. He said he was riding his bike when an oncoming car made him swerve into mine. He apologized for breaking my mirror and not leaving a note because he needed to get to the hospital and besides, his writing arm was not working at the time. It was an expensive mirror – powered remote and heated. I looked at his cast and said, “Don’t worry about it.”

    A few friends said it was an act and that I fell for it. I think he was sincere. He did not have to come forward. Sure, he might have been out vandalizing and his parents made him confess, but I did not know his family and only barely recognized him as a kid from a couple of blocks away. The cast looked genuine enough.

    I did learn a valuable lesson about insurance companies, though. Mine did not want to honor the claim at first; they wanted me to go after the kid and his family even though it was an accident not his fault. And they raised my rates afterward. The lesson: keep a high deductable and pay for the small things from the savings on the policy. As George Carlin once said, “Don’t sweat the petty things and don’t pet the sweaty things.”

    Bill

  8. I’ve been to Montana. You could be in seclusion in a townhouse in downtown Bozeman.

    Deteriorata

    Go placidly amid the noise and waste,
    And remember what comfort there may be in owning a piece thereof.
    Avoid quiet and passive persons unless you are in need of sleep.
    Rotate your tires.
    Speak glowingly of those greater than yourself,
    And heed well their advice, even though they be turkeys.
    Know what to kiss and when.
    Consider that two wrongs never make a right,
    But that three lefts do.
    Wherever possible put people on “HOLD”.
    Be comforted that in the face of all aridity and disillusionment,
    And despite the changing fortunes of time,
    There is always a big future in computer maintenance.
    Remember the Pueblo.
    Strive at all times to bend, fold, spindle and mutilate.
    Know yourself. If you need help, call the FBI.
    Exercise caution in your daily affairs,
    Especially with those persons closest to you;
    That lemon on your left for instance.
    Be assured that a walk through the ocean of most souls,
    Would scarcely get your feet wet.
    Fall not in love therefore; it will stick to your face.
    Carefully surrender the things of youth: birds, clean air, tuna, Taiwan,
    And let not the sands of time get in your lunch.
    For a good time, call 606-4311.
    Take heart amid the deepening gloom that your dog
    Is finally getting enough cheese;
    And reflect that whatever fortunes may be your lot,
    It could only be worse in Sioux City.
    You are a fluke of the Universe.
    You have no right to be here, and whether you can hear it or not,
    The Universe is laughing behind your back.
    Therefore make peace with your God whatever you conceive him to be, Hairy Thunderer or Cosmic Muffin.
    With all its hopes, dreams, promises, and urban renewal,
    The world continues to deteriorate.
    Give up.

    –– Tony Hendra

  9. Damn. Wrong one. I read it again and it’s missing important parts.

    I’ll post the real one over on my site.

    http://ripragged.com/dross

    Sorry.

  10. “I get the feeling that as a species we’ve slipped down the hole and it’s every man and woman for themselves” You’re only just figuring this out!? But seriously, I think that it is society and societal standards that has slipped significantly. It just isn’t as big a deal to lie any more, or to take a tomato.

  11. I had tomatoes stolen a few years ago, I was furious, until I realised it was the raccoons. Sure it wasn’t them?? They steal them and run off with them, so you’d never know, unless you see it happen.

    My tomatoes are about to go into full-on production, I wish I could leave a bag of them on your doorstep! 🙂

    Unacooper? Yeah, I’ve had that same thought sometimes. Wouldn’t it be nice? Just squirrels for company.

Leave a Reply

