MondayMusicMemeMojo

This is stolen from Lime who stole it from Suldog etc etc etc

Like Suldog, I too am a 74 grad but after scoping his list I think we were listening to different radio stations…Herein lies the rub.  I worked in a local record store from 72 – 74 and consequently had to listen to all the listed ‘top hits’ of that year until my ears bled.  So…I will climb into the WayBack Machine and come up with what I was actually listening to that year:

The original deal:
A) Go to
Music Outfitters.
B) In the search function, enter the year you graduated from high school. Get the list of the 100 most popular songs of that year.

C) Bold the songs you like, strike through the ones you hate, and underline or italicize your favorite.
D)Do nothing to those you don’t remember or don’t care about.

I too will break this into sections.

Albums I love: Those I played endlessly making sure my parents stayed good and paranoid about my future:
1. Lamb Lies Down On Broadway -Genesis
2. Headhunters – Herbie Hancock
3. Court and Spark – Joni Mitchell
4. Red – King Crimson
5. Bridge of Sighs – Robin Trower
6. Apostrophe – Frank Zappa
7. Sheer Heart Attack – Queen
8. Relayer – Yes (at the time I thought this was great – I listened to it last week and it’s really mediocre – I guess some things don’t age well)
9. Turn of The Cards – Renaissance
10. The Heart of Saturday Night – Tom Waits
11. That Nigger’s Crazy – Richard Pryor
12. Rock and Roll Animal – Lou Reed
13. Crime of The Century – Supertramp
14. Illusions on A Double Dimple – Triumvirat
15. Hero and Heroine – Strawbs
16. Song For America – Kansas
17. Hergest Ridge – Mike Oldfield
18. Kansas – Kansas
19. Chicago VII
20. Hotcakes – Carly Simon

Albums I sorta liked: Stuff I’d play as background music if I had something else to do.
1. Red Queen to Gryphon Three – Gryphon
2. Queen II – Queen
3. Phaedra – Tangerine Dream (I hear you snickering…”wow..he was a stoner”)
4. Bad Co. – Bad Company
5. Hamburger Concerto – Focus
6. Pretzel Logic – Steely Dan
7. The Hoople – Mott The Hoople
8. Journey..of the Earth – Rick Wakeman (toss-up…could have easily been in the list below)
9. Snowflakes Are Dancing – Tomita
10. Everything You Know Is Wrong – Firesign Theatre
11. Any album cover from The Ohio Players during this time (so who needs the music???)
12. Trace – Trace
13. What Were Once Vices… – Doobie Bros.
14. Wedding Album – Cheech & Chong (this album generally sucked but it had one great cut on it)
15. Rush – Rush
16. On The Border – Eagles
17. Caribou – Elton John
18. Looking Through – Passport
19. Verities & Balderdash – Harry Chapin
20. Streetlife Serenade – Billy Joel

Albums that were better served for frisbee use or skeet shooting:
1. Sheet Music – 10 CC
2. Starless and Bible Black – King Crimson (a rare misfire)
3. Diamond Dogs – Bowie (had one good song, the rest blew)
4. Eldorado – ELO
5. 461 Ocean Boulevard – Eric Clapton (I almost burned all my old Cream albums after hearing this piece of crap)
6. Late For The Sky – Jackson Browne (JB – ick)
7. Desolation Boulevard – Sweet
8. Before The Flood – Bob Dylan & The Band (double ick)
9. Welcome Back My Friends…ELP (I generally detest live albums)
10. On Stage – Loggins & Messina (see??)
11. War Child  – Jethro Tull
12. So What – Joe Walsh
13. Buddha & The Chocolate Box – Cat Stevens
14. Shinin’ On -Grand Funk
15. Thunderbox – Humble Pie (yeah…real subtle)
16. All The Girls Of The World – Grand Funk
17. Giant Rat of Sumatra – Firesign Theatre

Songs better left buried in a Staten Island landfill on a hot July day with 100 dozen cracked raw eggs:

1. The Way We Were, Barbra Streisand
2. Seasons In The Sun, Terry Jacks (please, die, now)
3. Love’s Theme, Love Unlimited Orchestra
4. Come And Get Your Love, Redbone
5. Dancing Machine, Jackson 5
6. The Loco-Motion, Grand Funk Railroad
7. TSOP, MFSB
8. The Streak, Ray Stevens
9. Bennie And The Jets, Elton John (please, die, now)
10. One Hell Of A Woman, Mac Davis
11. Until You Come Back To Me (That’s What I’m Gonna Do), Aretha Franklin
12. Jungle Boogie, Kool and The Gang
13. Midnight At The Oasis, Maria Muldaur
14. You Make Me Feel Brand New, Stylistics
15. Show And Tell, Al Wilson
16. Spiders And Snakes, Jim Stafford
17. Rock On, David Essex
18. Sunshine On My Shoulder, John Denver
19. Sideshow, Blue Magic
20. Hooked On A Feeling, Blue Swede
21. Billy Don’t Be A Hero, Bo Donaldson and The Heywoods (please, die, now)
22. Band On The Run, Paul McCartney and Wings
23. The Most Beautiful Girl, Charlie Rich
24. Time In A Bottle, Jim Croce
25. Annie’s Song, John Denver
26. Let Me Be There, Olivia Newton-John
28. (You’re) Having My Baby, Paul Anka (please, die, now)
29. Rock Me Gently, Andy Kim
30. Boogie Down, Eddie Kendricks
31. You’re Sixteen, Ringo Starr
32. If You Love Me (Let Me Know), Olivia Newton-John
33. Dark Lady, Cher
34. Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me, Gladys Knight and The Pips
35. Feel Like Makin’ Love, Roberta Flack
36. Just Dont Want To Be Lonely, Main Ingredient
37. Nothing From Nothing, Billy Preston
38. Rock Your Baby, George McCrae
39. Top Of The World, Carpenters
40. The Joker, Steve Miller Band
41. I’ve Got To Use My Imagination, Gladys Knight and The Pips
42. The Show Must Go On, Three Dog Night
43. Rock The Boat, Hues Corporation
44. Smokin’ In The Boys Room, Brownsville Station (please, die, now)
46. The Night Chicago Died, Paper Lace (please, die, now)(twice)
47. Then Came You, Dionne Warwick and The Spinners
49. Waterloo, Abba
50. The Air That I Breathe, Hollies
51. Rikki Don’t Lose That Number, Steely Dan
54. You Won’t See Me, Anne Murray
55. Never, Never Gonna Give You Up, Barry White
56. Tell Me Something Good, Rufus
57. You And Me Against The World, Helen Reddy
58. Rock And Roll Heaven, Righteous Brothers
59. Hollywood Swinging, Kool and The Gang
60. Be Thankful For What You Got, William Devaughn
61. Hang On In There Baby, Johnny Bristol
62. Eres Tu (Touch The Wind), Mocedades (please, die, now)
63. Taking Care Of Business, Bachman-Turner Overdrive
65. Please Come To Boston, Dave Loggins
67. Lookin’ For Love, Bobby Womack
68. Put Your Hands Together, O’Jays
69. On And On, Gladys Knight and The Pips
70. Oh Very Young, Cat Stevens
71. Leave Me Alone (Ruby Red Dress), Helen Reddy (please, die, now)
72. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, Elton John
74. Oh My My, Ringo Starr
75. For The Love Of Money, O’Jays
76. I Shot The Sherrif, Eric Clapton(please, die, now)(twice)
77. Jet, Paul McCartney and Wings
80. Love Song, Anne Murray
81. I’m Leaving It All Up To You, Donny and Marie Osmond
83. I Love, Tom T. Hall
84. Clap For The Wolfman, The Guess Who
85. I’ll Have To Say I Love You In A Song, Jim Croce
85. The Lord’s Prayer, Sister Janet Mead
87. Trying To Hold On To My Woman, Lamont Dozier
88. Don’t You Worry ‘Bout A Thing, Stevie Wonder
89. A Very Special Love Song, Charlie Rich
90. My Girl Bill, Jim Stafford
91. My Mistake Was To Love You, Diana Ross and Marvin Gaye
91. Helen Wheels, Paul McCartney and Wings (please, die, now)
93. Wildwood Weed, Jim Stafford
94. Beach Baby, First Class
95. Me And Baby Brother, War
96. Rockin’ Roll Baby, Stylistics
97. I Honestly Love You, Olivia Newton-John
98. Call On Me, Chicago
99. Wild Thing, Fancy
100. Mighty Love, Pt. 1, Spinners

7 Comments

Filed under meme, music

7 responses to “MondayMusicMemeMojo

  1. ok, please don’t hate me but i like jim croce and jungle boogie.

    *ducks

    do i redeem myself if i tell you that i listened to my dad’s girlfriend’s frank zappa album on the sly when i was 7 and liked it?

  2. cooper

    Lime – full redemption granted

  3. Sis

    Wow….what a long list of REALLY shitty songs!!!! With one exception…..can’t explain it, but have always liked “Tell Me Something Good”….funky.

  4. Ah, you obviously never heard Gonzo’s muppet version of Time in a Bottle.. Classic.

  5. Awww don’t kill Helen Wheels I like that one…the rest of them…well I totally agree with you on.

  6. Ahem, in my defense I was only 11 or 12 when the bottom list played on the radio~ my favorite friend. I still like a bunch of those songs : )

    I can see the only points in my favor at this point would be that I still have that Robin Trower album and not too long ago we were all sitting in the shop listening to Richard Pryor (my favorite of all time) on vinyl laughing OAO.

    I’ll have to check that site out~ thanks 🙂

  7. i going to do this as well, but i think our music selection was far worse than yours in grad year…. i remember thinking “dear god, is this how i will have to remember our grad” when the “theme” came on… ew…

Leave a Reply

