Opus R.I.P.

For those Opus followers, you know that the mighty penguin is breathing his last.  This may be an appropriate time to share a) my love for all things Bloom County/Outland/Opus, and b) a piece of my own artwork.

I had never heard of Bloom County until I saw an edition of Loose Tails in a Waldenbooks one evening while browsing the Humor section.  I randomly picked it up and started browsing through it.  I remember the first strip I read was when Binkley was listening to the radio and the DJ announced that someone had turned a book into the lost and found entitled “Bed Wetting: Beat it Through Hypnosis” and it was identified as a library book taken out by Michael Binkley.  I had tears rolling down my face I was laughing so hard.  I was hooked from then on.  I’ve read all the books; I saved all the strips out of the newspaper and xeroxed them onto legal-sized sheets and kept them for the longest time.  I even have a stuffed Opus around here somewhere.  Bloom County became a favorite of my son as well.  So much so that he asked me to paint something on his bedroom door.  At the time, Opus ‘n’ Bill greeting cards could be found in most card stores.  From the side of each envelope, O&B could be seen peaking around the corner as if off-envelope somewhere.  Using that as my guide I painted Opus & Bill on his door.  Years later when we replaced all the crappy doors with six-panel doors, we saved the O&B door and eventually my son ripped it apart, saving only the painting, which is still closeted away.  As proof I offer….(you can still see the doorknob hole in Opus’ shoulder)

7 Comments

Filed under comedy

7 responses to “Opus R.I.P.

  1. bill beat me to the punch. “ack” has been a personal expletive ever since i first saw bill utter it many years ago.

    first the far side, then calvin & hobbes, now opus….it just ain’t right i tell ya.

  2. I’m going to miss this strip. It brings me such joy.

  3. Sorry for the loss… seems all the really neat stuff (like the little red cabose swinging from the back of a train) is slowly but surely fading away.

  4. It’s sad when something so beloved comes to an end. Good thing there’s such a great body of work left behind. That stuff never gets old.

  5. Kel

    I, too, am a Far Side, Calvin & Hobbes, Bloom County fan … I used to have every book printed of Calvin & Hobbes, and lots of the others. Thanks for reminding me of their greatness – I’m going to reclaim my comic books from my kids!

  6. snowelf

    You did an awesome job on the door! It looks fantastic and it’s so cool that your son didn’t want to part with it!

    –snow

Leave a Reply

