Top 5….whenever i damn well feel like it

As always, from The Mistress

Top 5 Songs about pets or animals that you keep as pets

1. They’re Coming To Take Me Away Ha Ha! – Napoleon XIV
And who could forget this romping little ditty from the 60’s that caused such a furor?  I still have the 45.  (For you youngsters a 45 is…well…think of an EP with only one edited song on it on one side and another intolerable throw-away song on the other side that often turned out to be the better of the two)  I hear the album is worth quite a pretty penny.

2. Shannon – Henry Gross
A one hit wonder from the 70’s with a great hook

3. Chestnut Mare – The Byrds
Another good story song with a great hook.

4. Gutter Cat vs. The Jets – Alice Cooper
A great song that includes a cover of  “The Jet Song” from West Side Story.  Everyone else was playing ‘School’s Out’ over and over…I listened to the rest of the album.  “Remember the Coop, huh?”

5. Cat Scratch Fever – Ted Nugent
Great Ted.  Not too obvious…..

(anyone who does this and includes “Mandy” will report directly to me for detention and re-education)

9 Comments

Filed under music, Top 5

9 responses to “Top 5….whenever i damn well feel like it

  1. Stray Cat Strut – Stray Cats

    Odd, that one was stuck in my head all day today.

    Bill

  2. Another odd thing – a friend and I were talking about Dr. Demento today and these were mentioned:

    Dead Dog Rover

    Dead Puppies

    Fish Heads

    My apologies in advance to those who are not into the twisted humor from that show.

    Bill

  3. well, bill beat me to the dr. demento scene and fish heads.

    used to enjoy listening to alice cooper at night on a jersey station until they stopped airing the program. the guy is a hoot. who else could make that cheesy west side story song come off as cool?

  4. Mandy??? Now you went and done it. I’ll be hearing that song all dang day 😉

  5. mssolitaire

    Hahahahahaha!!! OMG I love that song!!! Napoleon XIV YAY!!!!

  6. Cat Scratch Fever was a popular answer 🙂

  7. OMG..fish heads, fish heads, rollie pollie fish heads. Back when life was good men were men and the sheep were scared.

    How ya been brother? Thought you might get a kick outa this site. It’s called You Remember That.com

    When life has slapped me down and I need to remember better times, I find myself relaxing and reminiscing.

    Hope all is well in your world!

    Hugz

  8. OMG..fish heads, fish heads, rollie pollie fish heads. Back when life was good men were men and the sheep were scared.

    How ya been brother? Thought you might get a kick outa this site. It’s called You Remember That.com

    When life has slapped me down and I need to remember better times, I find myself relaxing and reminiscing.

    Hope all is well in your world!

    Hugz

  9. Hey Coop, I’m currently doing a post answering a letter concerning self esteem. For a long time I’ve thought that pic you have HERE was a good one. May I use it? Email me, if you can and let me know. In the meantime have a kick ass weekend.

    Hugz!

Leave a Reply

