i don’t know…

this just seems kind of……odd….

MGM and the Farrelly brothers are finally slapping together their high-profile cast for “The Three Stooges,” a comedy project the filmmakers have been developing for years. Sean Penn is set to play Larry, and Jim Carrey is in negotiations to play Curly. Benicio del Toro is a rumored possibility for the brothers’ taciturn leader, Moe.

The studio is looking to start production in the fall for a 2010 release slot.

Didn’t Michael Chicklets (or whatever his name is) play Curly in some TV Stooges Bio-pic?  Jim Carrey?  I guess as long as he can be reigned in and not go overboard.  Sean Penn as Larry??? Just can’t see it…but then he’s done so much stretching as an actor I guess anything is possible.  If Danny DeVito wasn’t so short I think he’d make a good Moe, not that any of the Stooges was all that tall.  And what about Shemp?  In his heyday Walter Matthau would have made a great Shemp.  Any other ideas???

7 Comments

Filed under celebrities, movies

7 responses to “i don’t know…

  1. i gotta say the sean penn and benicio del toro castings made me wonder what the farrelly bros have been smoking. though i don’t have any other suggestions. your danny devito idea is good.

    true story. i wasn’t allowed to watch the 3 stooges or lil rascals as a kid because it “might put bad ideas in my head”. but i was weaned on laugh-in. i guess that explains a lot. i’ll be leaving now….

  2. now that i thinkk about it…joe pesci would make a good Moe…

  3. I don’t have any ideas. I think, of the available humorless drones, though, Sean Penn makes the best lousy stand-in for Larry Fine. Larry was the straight man for the group, which makes it an ideal follow on role to Milk. *Ta-da boom TSSSS!*

    If I was going to do a 3S pic, I’d go find three struggling or at least more obscure actors that look a little like who they’re portraying, and give them a chance to make names for themselves.

    Ed Harris in The Right Stuff springs to mind.

    On the other hand, Frank Caliendo could probably do Shemp.

  4. I don’t know either…I am finding it difficult to get excited about this movie. It really seems that Hollywood has run out of original ideas and are now remaking EVERYTHING. What’s next, Casablanca?

    Anyway, Jimmy Fallon has been in Conan’s old time slot on late-night TV for several weeks. I find him to be not so good. Every time I see him, I think he resembles a young Moe.

    Bill

  5. jillie

    UGH….never have been a fan of the 3 Stooges….and I don’t think I’ll be going to this movie any time soon….lol!!!

    In high school there was a guy that use to irritate the shit out of me imitating them. I can’t tell you how many times I wanted to deck him. I was afraid that if I did, he would start making the sound effects…lol

  6. I have no idea who would suit any of them.

    Funny story though (kind of) my cousin is married to the niece of Larry and he sent them a silver nut bowl for their wedding…

Leave a Reply

