Book Me

A little book meme I found while tooling around the Blogsphere at Ruined By Reading

Hardback, trade paperback or mass market paperback?  The question holds my preference order..usually hardbacks only if I can get them cheaper than paperbacks

Barnes & Noble or Borders? If we’re talking brick n mortar, B&N

Bookmark or dog-ear?  Bookmark for hardbacks and trades, dog eared for paperbacks.

Amazon or brick-and-mortar? Depends how bad I’m Jonesing for a new book.  B&N B&M is better for the long relaxing browse.  Amazon is for when I just need a quick break.

Alphabetize by author, or alphabetize by title, or random? Long ago I ordered by ISBN…can you say OCD????  Right now they’re random.

Keep, throw away, or sell?  Right now I’m in keep mode.  I’ve sold and swapped and donated to the library in the past

Keep dust jacket or toss it? Keep it.

Read with dust jacket or remove it?  Keep it on…use the flaps as a bookmark

Short story or novel?  Mostly novels.  The only short story author I really dug was Ray Bradbury.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket? Only read the HP books.

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks? Chapter breaks unless I absolutely cannot keep my eyes open.

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?  “There once was a woman from Trent….”

Buy or borrow? Buy, buy, buy.

New or used?  Both. We have this great used book store nearby..an old Victorian house crammed with used books..it’s awesome.

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendations, or browse? the second two. i don’t believe I’ve ever bought a book based on a review.

Tidy ending or cliffhanger?  either as long as it fits.

Morning reading, afternoon reading, or nighttime reading? mostly nighttime.

Stand-alone or series? I can do either but the series has to hold up well to keep my interest.

Favorite series?  HP books were good.  Evanovich’s Plum series has gone downhill.  The first two or three dozen of Terry Brook’s Shannara series was enough for me.  The problem with series is that the structures get to be the same.  Like Greeley’s books; after five or six you can predict what page certain events will take place.

Favorite children’s book? I remember being hooked on the Danny Dunn series as a kid

Favorite YA book? The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard? Gullible’s Travels by Cash Peters; Jack Rivers & Me by Paul John Radley (actually his uncle wrote them and the kid took the credit).

Favorite books read last year? Lamb by Christopher Moore, This Book Will Save Your Life by A.M. Homes

Favorite books of all time?  Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand, Bird by Bird by Ann LaMott…i could go on and on

What are you reading right now? Rat Life by Todd Arnold, PostMortem by Patricia Cornwell

What are you reading next? Not a clue…got dozens on the shelf waiting for me

Favorite book to recommend to an 11-year-old?  Tropic of Cancer by Henry Miller (just kidding!).  Wouldn’t have a clue…

Favorite book to re-read?  Atlas Shrugged or The FountainheadGravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon.

Do you ever smell books? That’s a really really odd question. Maybe this meme author needs…ummm…some assistance…

Do you ever read primary source documents like letters or diaries?  Ugh.  No.

For more book stuff, check out my library by clicking the totally unimaginative link on the sidebar…it’s way down on the bottom after all the neat pictures…

8 Comments

Filed under Books, meme

8 responses to “Book Me

  1. ruinedbyreading

    Interesting answers. I’ve never heard of ordering by ISBN, but yes, OCD indeed haha.

  2. you ordered by ISBN? ok, it’s not dewey or library of congress but oh does it ever make the heart of this librarian wannabe skip a beat that anyone would be so particular.

    as for smelling books….i am all over that. when i helped inventory a new library i was in new book smell heaven. it’s way better than new car smell. but even old books have a good smell all their own.

  3. My Chicklet (who is 11 LOL) is reading the HP series… she’s hooked. The child goes through books so fast, not that I’m complaining.

    I may curl up with books this weekend since it’s raining and I’m having a pity party.

  4. I miss the used book shop we used to have in town. I’m all about goodwill for getting my paperback fix

  5. If you are ever in the Dallas/Fort Worth metro area or selected cities in the states of Arizona, California, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Indiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahome, Pennsylvania, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin, check out these stores: http://www.halfpricebooks.com/

    As David Letterman is so fond of saying, I hope your city is selected.

    I find it difficult to walk out of there without buying something. You have been warned!

    Bill

  6. Once upon a time, a long time ago, I put all my books in alphabetical order… now I just put all authors together and the ones who stand alone, are all all thrown higglety pigglity.

    I am a book sniffer or shall I say a book smeller. I walk into a library, a book store any where with books and I turn into that evil guy on Chitty Chitty Bang, Bang that goes around saying “I smell CHILDREN!” only with me, it’s I SMELL A BOOK 😉

  7. mssolitaire

    I love books!!! It’s totally awesome to have books and read and get lost. I love to read. My head is in a book as often as I can get the time to read! 🙂 I might have to steal this meme

  8. Interesting list. I’m with you on most of it.

    I”ve never read HP. Only saw one movie. I miss waiting for a Tom Clancy novel, and I’ve read every word ever published by Robert Ludlum.

    I have three favorite books to reread: Red Sky at Morning by Richard Bradford, Dune (just the first book) by Frank Herbert, and Bendigo Shafter by Louis L’Amour.

    I organize my books according to whether the existing stack is going to topple.

Leave a Reply

