tunage with the queen

It’s a simple NAME THAT TUNE meme with a Mimi twist.

The Rules : Once you have been tagged (or commanded by the Queen) you are supposed to write down the top 25 SEVEN songs you cannot live without. The ones you can listen to over and over and never get tired of. They don’t have to be in any particular order. These are the songs that make you laugh, cry, think of an old friend, whatever the reason. I know it’s impossible for many of us to narrow it down to seven. There are just too many songs. Instead, make a list of seven songs that move you personally and tell us why. What memory does the song evoke? What emotion? Where were you when you first heard it? We’d like to know what’s in your musical memory bank. Name seven songs and tell us about your emotional connection to the song.
Fair enough?

Let’s get started!

1. Biaxident – Liquid Tension Experiment
Spent a lot of time learning the drum part to this, after all it’s a Mike Portnoy piece, albeit a simple one.  I still love playing it.

2. Johnny’s Camaro – David Wilcox
Just a great story song that makes me smile every time I hear it.

3. In Memory of Elizabeth Reed (Live) – Allman Bros
Just takes me back to a simpler time in my life – memories of being with my sister in North Carolina –  a time of less responsibility and endless possibilities.

4. Bell Boy – The Who
“A beach is a place where a man can feel he’s the only soul in the world that’s real..”  Kind of sez it all.  I relate to the rest of the song as well.

5. American Idiot – Green Day
Just gets me adrenalized every time I hear it.

6. Waiting – Green Day
I love singing along with this song…and no, I will not perform it for you.  I have respect for the hearing of all nearby canines.

7. Don’t Crush That Dwarf, Hand Me The Pliers – The Firesign Theatre
I need to laugh.  And if I’m going to be stuck with just seven songs for the rest of my life, one has to be a comedy cut.  This was my introduction to the Four or Five Crazy Guys, thanx to my sister and BIL.  They have done funnier, but I hold this one as special.
(ok…this is going to make absolutely no sense on it’s own…unless you are a FT fan…but the whole thing is on YT in half a dozen parts or so)

11 Comments

Filed under comedy, meme, music, YouTube

11 responses to “tunage with the queen

  1. logo™

    Some new (old, but new to me) ones in that list.
    Fun, I do love me some Green Day.

  2. I must say I haven’t heard of those. The last one is a good title.

  3. I’ve never heard of any of them which means I must give them a thorough listen. I truly appreciate the Allmans so this is worth some investigation.

  4. excellent answers, I got to hear a lot of things I’ve not heard…

  5. Sis

    How OLD are these people you are “blogging” with…..nevermind. I have many “North Carolina” songs, but if I had to narrow it down to just one…Eliz. Reed would be THE one . Funny to me that it’s an association for you, too.

  6. Love the Green Day picks!

  7. i need to come back when i can actually take time to listen to all these. fun glimpse into your musical soul 🙂

  8. I got to see green day live. Totally converted me to a fan.

Leave a Reply

