the tragedy of baseball

I love watching baseball, either on TV or in the park.  Let me qualify that by stating that I love watching major league baseball on TV but minor league in the park where tickets can be had for under $20 as opposed to Yankee Stadium where a decent seat requires a second mortgage.  Even though I picked Yankee Stadium in the example I am not a slobbering Yankees fan.  Yes, I grew up worshiping Mantle, Maris, Bobby Richardson, Bobby Mercer, Tom Tresh and Joe Pepitone, but now I can watch just about any team except Colorado.  There’s just something about ‘baseball’ and ‘Colorado’ that doesn’t quite match up for me.

Last night I dined on a California burger and onion rings at an excellent bar where my buds Gravity were playing.  Large HD TV screens adorn the walls, as one would expect.  The display nearest me was broadcasting the Yankee post-game show.  Naturally there was no sound as the band had kicked into their first set.  As I watched the locker room interviews it dawned on me that every player responds the same way;  an expression of remorse  as if they just finished clubbing their little sister with an aluminum baseball bat coupled with a penitent head shake as if confessing the deed to a nearby priest.

Last time I checked, baseball was supposed to be fun.  Why do all these guys look like they’re headed for death row?  I could understand this if the sportscaster were interviewing, say, the Dallas Cowboys or the Oakland Raiders.  Or Joe Pepitone.

One last thought.  Is it necessary to have a press conference after every single game? Do we need that much analysis?  Wasn’t the game enough for these sports-press nerds to write about?

OK.  One more last thought.  This is the last one.  I promise.  During the press conference, why does the manager need a thirty ounce bottle of water sitting in front of him?  I’m fairly familiar with the game and I don’t remember much physical exertion exhibited by the manager (unless there’s a good rhubarb or the manager is Billy Martin, Casey Stengel or Lou Pinella).  All I’m saying is the Manager just cannot be that thirsty…

3 Comments

Filed under media, sports, TV

3 responses to “the tragedy of baseball

  1. minor league games are lots of fun i have come to learn. cheap tickets and the stadium closest to us doesn’t have a bad seat in the house. i’m glad to hear a fan of the game saying the endless post-game analysis is a bit much. i thought it was just me.

  2. I cannot watch baseball on TV. It puts me to sleep every time. Too bad I do not have insomnia as I know how to cure it.

    Going to a game is a whole different story. The slowness of the game is a positive, giving plenty of time to chat with friends, eat hot dogs and drink beer. I really need to go give the local farm team a try…

    Bill

  3. Oh, one more thing. When the Minnesota North Stars picked up and moved to Dallas, lots of people thought hockey and Texas? That’ll never work. But the Stars now have many fans despite the awfully high ticket prices.

    Bill

Leave a Reply

