words and music by…

Mimi’s Meme #46 – I used a random word generator to find the words.
Your job is to find a song that uses this word either in the title or lyrics. Give us the title or part of the lyric that fits and the artist. Then say a little something about the tune and why you chose it. Posting a YouTube video of the song would be great! (but not required)
Here we go.

1. “I Want to Hold Your Hand” – Beatles – the first thing that popped into my mind.  I can remember clear as day buying the 45 at the long gone Harmony House in Springfield, NJ.  It was the black and white picture sleeve version with the old yellow/orange Capitol records label

2. “Hell is for Children” – Pat Benetar – The perfect song for an anti-child abuse campaign.  Every time I hear it I storyboard the video for it in my head.

3. “She blinds everybody with her super high beams,
She’s a squirrel crushing, deer smacking, driving machine!” – Canyonero Ad Song – The Simpsons – well????

4. Ugly – Sass Jordan – Rats – outstanding funk/drive song with add-in vocals from the funk-master George Clinton

5. Absurd Beast – Agoraphobic Nosebleed – Altered States of America – i just love the name.  how could you not love a band with less than :60 songs (for all the budding ADD/OCD youngsters out there) with titles like Children Blown to Bits by The Busload, Poland Springfield Acidbag, Obi Wan Kaczynski and Drive-By Blowjob on a Bicycle.  Note:  if your kids are listening to this band, institutionalize them now.

6. “Romeo locks his basement flat and scurries up the stairs” – The Cinema Show – Genesis (the good Genesis with peter gabriel) – Selling England by The Pound  – songs has a long instrumental section in 7/8 that is so much fun to play on the drums.

7. There is No God – Extreme – Waiting for The Punchline – has a great guitar open and close.  the drum part is a hard banging get-my-frustrations-out piece.

10 Comments

Filed under drumming, meme, music

10 responses to “words and music by…

  1. #1. Beatles are like black shoes — they belong anywhere!

    And you’re right about Genesis — two distinctly different sounds, even if the band has the same name.

  2. Great picks! I had wrack my brains for “smack”… that one didn’t exactly pop into my head 🙂

  3. Some truly interesting choices. I’ll have to check some of them out as never heard before other than The Beatles.

  4. A few I’ve never heard of before, a few I haven’t heard in years. Very eclectic tastes!

    Thanks for visiting mine. 🙂

  5. Great minds do think alike. Love Benetar. Thanks for viewing my list. Really cool choices, BTW.

  6. ok, i totally have to go look up #5 now.

  7. Oh what a great list. 🙂 I love finding new music to get to know and you’ve given me at least three here.

    This meme has been fun. 😀

  8. Hey coops, nice lyrical quality!

    Am I seriously in the dungeon?? lol…

  9. I am now going to have to listen to all of these. You made them all sound so compelling. Disturbing. But compelling.

    Beatles. I’m sure that song popped into all our heads at once. That was a scary thought…..conjugal memeing. What a concept.

  10. Who came up with Agrophobic Nosebleed?

Leave a Reply

