meme & roll friday

Rock and Roll with The KING… 

Hi and welcome to Rock ‘n Roll Fridays. We are like other memes in that we will ask you thirteen questions each and every Friday. But our little “twist” is that each week we will pick a singer, band, era or category and pick thirteen of their lyrics. Each of our questions will be based on the lyrics. Got it? Great! Let’s begin this week’s meme!
Today we picked Elvis. The song titles are in caps. Both the titles and the lyrics are in bold. Here’s Rock ‘n Roll Fridays! 

1. A LITTLE LESS CONVERSATION “A little less conversation, a little more action please All this aggravation ain’t satisfactioning me A little more bite and a little less bark A little less fight and a little more spark Shut your mouth and open up your heart and baby satisfy me (satisfy me) Satisfy me baby”
What is your favorite topic for long conversations?
The air speed velocity of a European swallow…

2. TEDDY BEAR “Baby let me be, your lovin’ Teddy Bear Put a chain around my neck, and lead me anywhere Oh let me be Your teddy bear.”
What was your favorite stuffed animal or comfort object as a child?
My parents put a live iguana in my crib.  I think I still have the skeletal remains somewhere…

3. SUSPICIOUS MINDS “We can’t go on together With suspicious minds And we can’t build our dreams On suspicious minds…”
What are you suspicious of?

People walking in public wearing pink Victoria’s Secret thongs on their head.  Just a quirk of mine… 

4. THE WONDER OF YOU “When no one else can understand me When everything I do is wrong You give me hope and consolation You give me strength to carry on”…
What is the best feature of your present or last S/O?
The fourth toe on her left foot.  You should see it.  Really.

5. ARE YOU LONESOME TONIGHT “Do the chairs in your parlor Seem empty and bare? Do you gaze at your doorstop and picture me there? Is your heart filled with pain? Shall I come back again? Tell me dear, are you lonesome tonight?”
What is your favorite feel good movie when you are depressed?
I’d say it’s a toss-up between A Clockwork Orange and The Deer Hunter…laughs a-plenty

6. JAILHOUSE ROCK “Let’s Rock Everybody let’s rock Everybody in the whole cell block Was dancing to the jailhouse rock”…
What would be the worst part about being in prison?
There’s a downside????

7. CLAMBAKE “Hey listen world you’ve gotta know I’m cutting loose and letting go Who needs the worry and the strife Life can be a ball now just following my life Clambake…gonna have a clambake”…
What is your favorite food cooked out of doors (on a fire/ grill/ pit)?
Escargo.  It’s fun to watch the little bastards hot-foot it across the grill grate.

8. IN THE GHETTO “As the snow flies on a cold and gray Chicago morn A poor little baby child is born in the ghetto And his mama cries cause if there’s one thing that she don’t need Is another hungry mouth to feed in the ghetto”…
Where was the worst place you ever lived?

The bamboo patch outside the drainage pipe to the sewerage treatment plant.  People kept stopping by all the time…never had a moment’s peace.
9. LOVE ME TENDER
“Love me tender
Love me sweet
Never let me go
You have made my life complete
And I love you so”…
What is your favorite type of filling in a box of mixed chocolates?
Ram’s Bladder Cup.  Or Crunchy Frog…I can’t decide. 

10. BLUE SUEDE SHOES
“Well it’s one for the money
Two for the show, three to get ready now go cat go,
But don’t you step on my blue suede shoes
Well you can do anything but lay off of my blue suede shoes”…

Describe your favorite pair of shoes of all time.
The black goloshes with the six buckles on the front that always leaked wet snow and slush onto my feet.  Those were the days. 

11. HOUND DOG
“You ain’t nothion but a hound dog
Cryin all the time
You ain’t nothing but a hound dog
Cryin all the time
You ain’t never caught a rabbit
And you ain’t no friend of mine”…
What is your favorite dog breed, or what kind of dog do you own?
Nathan’s.  Or Sabretts.  Either one works.

12. ALL SHOOK UP
“A wella bless my soul
What’s wrong with me?
I’m itchin like a cat on a fuzzy tree
My friends say I’m actin wild as a bug
I’m in love I’m all shook up
Oh oh oh…mm, mmm, oh yeah yeah!”
What shook you up recently?
Getting a certain part of my anatomy caught in the paint shaker at Home Depot.  They were not amused.

13. HARD HEADED WOMAN
“A-Well a hard headed woman
A soft hearted man
Been the cause of trouble
Ever since the world began oh Yeah!”
What are you most stubborn about?
That my non-dairy creamer contain less than 2% insect parts and mouse droppings.  If it’s 2.2%…it’s outta here…

4 Comments

Filed under meme

4 responses to “meme & roll friday

  1. i gotta say the lyrics seem superfluous to the questions but the answers, as always, are fantastically twisted. though i must ask, is the european swallow laden or unladen?

    i’ll vote for crunchy frog. i’d also opt for your galoshes over the red rubbers i had to wear to school on rainy days. oh, and make my dogs a hebrew national.

  2. I would never wear the pink thong on my head! It would make my fez go askew! But a pink fez…hmmm…need to go shopping. Might pick up some Anthrax Ripple while I’m out…

Leave a Reply

