dumber by the hour

I have come to accept, though not condone, linguistic laziness in the workplace. English can be a brutal language to the foreign tongue (there, their, they’re – bow bough (how could those two possibly sound the same) wind, wind (the same word pronounced two different ways?? Come on…).
I do not accept, however, usage stupidity where it is thoroughly…well…unacceptable. For example, the following paragraph on CNN.com taken from today’s Anita Hill story…

“In a statement to CNN, Virginia “Ginni” Thomas said: “I did place a call to Ms. Hill at her office extending an olive branch to her after all these years, in hopes that we could ultimately get passed what happened so long ago. That offer still stands, I would be very happy to meet and talk with her if she would be willing to do the same. Certainly no offense was ever intended.””

I am assuming, perhaps incorrectly, that CNN employs editors to check these stories prior to publication…perhaps not…

4 Comments

Filed under culture, education, media, rant, writing

4 responses to “dumber by the hour

  1. Isn’t it disgraceful? I live near Seattle and I can tell you these folks could not use proper grammar if they tried!! Double negatives abound. Words that don’t exist like irregardless. It drives me CRAAAZY! I have learned not to correct people. They get annoyed. Whoops sorry, I grew up with a grammar Nazi of a mother and it’s second nature.

  2. please pass me something to help the memory of that grammar slide into the past.

    good lord.

  3. snowelf

    egads.

    –snow

    on a side note, I think you’re right about October. I am having the worst.month.ever. Horrible. Just. Horrible.

    (Bad punctuation intended.)

    Horrible!

  4. I believe the only editor that the media employs is spell check. And that fails every so often as well. Good grammar has gone by the wayside these days. I weep for the future. 😦

Leave a Reply

