the end of things

How well do you deal with the natural end of things?  Some are easier than others but, not unlike dying celebrities, these things always seem happen in threes.  I’m in that threesome cycle (get your mind out of the gutter and focus, cooper) as three things have, or are about to, draw to a close.

1.  On a worldwide scale, of course, Mr. Potter and company.  We saw it yesterday and while the film is spectacular, operatic and satisfying on just about every level, walking out of theater is like walking away from your kids having just dropped them off as college freshman, an apt comparison but I won’t expand for those who have not seen the film or read the book.  All the kids we’ve watched grow up move on to lead their lives and it leaves a bit of a hole.  Tooling around the nets brings another aspect of this affecting an age demographic different from my own.  These characters were part of millions of kids childhood experience.  For them, letting go of childhood friends can be daunting after spending ten years with them.  Kind of like standing in the street watching the moving van make its way down the road.

2. Closer to home, but not entirely unrelated…the book is done.  Those who have followed this lame blog over the years know that i’ve been writing this for far too long.  The final (I promise) draft is in the hands of my manuscript editor.  Now comes the fun part of shopping it around.  For my bloggy friends that stepped up to the plate a couple of years ago (yes, it was two years ago) to read the draft as it stood then, you hold a sacred place in the growth of this child – which, btw, has undergone radical surgery since then and, I feel, is much better.  Only time will tell if my instincts are on target.

3. I’ve spent the past three days walking the fence and conferring with a very nervous mrs. about leaving my current job.  No, I’m not hallucinating that I will instantly become the next Rowling and don’t need to work anymore.  Last week was, at a minimum, one of the final nails in the coffin.  Where I work is more dysfunctional than a Manson family reunion and I spent two full days fighting with people to do what’s expected of them without me babysitting their asses 24/7.  I do not micro-manage.  My expectations (and there lies the crux of the biscuit) are that if the tasks are presented clearly that my fellow inmates are adult and responsible enough to finish said tasks and/or ask for help when needed, without me asking every hour how things are going and are there any issues.  This is not the case at my loony bin.  People hit a brick wall and lie there waiting for someone else to help them up, without saying a word to anyone.  I’ve just had enough.  The kids are gone, the money is not that important any more, but my sanity is.  After 10 years, the chaos just grows worse day after day.  I’m not supposed to live like this am I?  Needless to say, me and the forces of life have been conversing heavily to come to a rationale and wise solution.  Yes, the conventional wisdom is not to leave without something else set up.  I don’t know if i can last that long.

13 Comments

Filed under Books, celebrities, life, movies, work, writing

13 responses to “the end of things

  1. Good luck on the job situation!

    My frame of reference isn’t exactly that which gives a crap about entertainment ending. People I love or physical ability, even money/ job, sure.

    • just trying to be topical..speaking of which, do they make a topical cure for stupidity? I’d like to order a case to take into the office…

      • Your blog — do anything you like!

        To me, this hoopla is over the top (you can’t get away from it; it’s not like I’m only hearing about this on your blog!). I LOVE Star Trek. Love, love, love, love. Yet, I never got worked up over any series ending (or at least not as worked up as adults are over HP). It’s entertainment. I truly don’t skew human, apparently, on giving a crap about Anna Nicole’s death or whoever’s private parts showing — or this. I truly don’t get it.

        I do know what it’s like to finish a novel–and that’s big, big stuff. That, I get. I get ending a job (your choice or theirs) but entertainment? I simply don’t get the “enormity” of it to people (not picking on you–anywhere).

  2. generally i agree. i lothe the cult of celebrity and all the importance we are supposed to believe it has. One of the reasons my tv watching has shrunk to almost nothing is the mindless blather about the private lives of people that are deemed “important” from actors and sports geeks to politcos and media types themselves.

  3. Emjayandthem

    Wow! Harry Potter ending, book ready to go and pulling the pin on the runaway caboose @ the office? You are on one h*ll of a roll, Coop! Haven’t seen HP yet (thank u for the non spoiler … u r kewl) 🙂 and .. on the rest … trust your instincts; you know more than you think you do.

  4. well, i can certainly appreciate that mrs would be nervous. these are hideous times economically. but i can also appreciate that for the sake of sanity you can’t stay put. i listened to the mr. say every day for 10 yrs how much he hated his job and that is it’s own brand of wearisome for everyone involved. maybe it’s time for a leap of faith to prevent a leap from the cliffs of insanity. i don’t know. i sure wish you peace though….peace in employment, peace at home (because yep, its a big scary decision and you guys need to both be ok with things one way or another), peace with your own creative process.

  5. I’ve left a job once with no other one in place, but I was married to a (dirt-bag) of a man who was working at the time and was totally pissed at me.
    I hope that things will get better for you soon or that you can find a way to leave your job. Good luck.

  6. First congratulation on the progress of the book. Second, I am so going to miss Harry and third, I would have loved you for a boss … just tell me what you want done and I will let you know when it is or if a problem arises. I know the Millennials supposedly like constant communication, but the differing style in accomplishing goals isn’t worth your sanity.

  7. Cherry and I went to see HP yesterday and it was terribly sad for both of us~ We have been going to the show since she was a youngen and now she is all grown up with a baby of her own…

    As for the job situation I totally understand your need to move on as I’ve done it quite a bit myself. I am not a money lover either.

    Keep me posted on the book~ I’ll be the first in line to buy it as soon as it hits the shelf : )

  8. Thanks Coop –

    You’ve just made me appreciate my job. I work with a bunch of like-minded 50-something rednecks for whom the phrase “go to work” has two verbs. Our manager knows that and does not micromanage. We have our work and we are expected to complete it on time and provide a quality product. As long as we do, the boss is free to pursue other projects for his boss. Everybody wins.
    Situations like what you described are too common.
    Congrats on finishing the book. Welcome to the end of the beginning. My wife finished hers a couple of years ago. We now have copies. God alone knows if any are selling.

  9. Pingback: novel writing, today from the west country in dorset | security is for cadavers

Leave a Reply

