it’s time for black friday to be outlawed…or at least ignored

LOS ANGELES (AP) — A woman shot pepper spray to keepshoppers from merchandise she wanted during a Black Friday sale, and 20 people suffered minor injuries, authorities said.

The incident occurred shortly after 10:20 p.m. Thursday in a crowded Los Angeles-area Walmart as shoppers hungry for deals were let inside the store.

Police said the suspect shot the pepper spray when the coverings over the items she wanted were removed.

“Somehow she was trying to use it to gain an upper hand,” police Lt.Abel Parga told The Associated Press early Friday.

He said she was apparently after some electronics and used the pepper spray to keep other shoppers at bay.

Officials said 20 people suffered minor injuries. Fire department spokesman Shawn Lenske said the injuries to least 10 of them were due to ” rapid crowd movement.”

Parga said police were still looking for the woman.

The store remained open and those not affected by the pepper spray continued shopping.

11 Comments

Filed under america, business, crime, culture, dumbass, holiday, marketing, news, stupidity

11 responses to “it’s time for black friday to be outlawed…or at least ignored

  1. so ridiculous, I want nothing to do with any of it and I wholeheartedly agree with you.

  2. It’s not a big deal here, but there are big box store sales that spin off with black friday sales here as well. Though half our population doesn’t go shopping that day just for the deals – it’s still a little crazy with the door crashers. Honestly, saving twenty bucks is not worth losing sleep in our house.

    • the insanity for stuff is the real root behind the US economic problems, as much as everyone wants to blame the government. if we just satisfied our basic, true needs instead of the needs large corporations tell us we must have, things would get better

  3. this is just appalling. absolutely appalling. and there is no bargain existing that would make me want to wade into that sea of insanity.

  4. When I saw this on the news I was appalled and had the same thought you did – stored have to stop these ridiculous sales before another person gets killed.
    There were two people shot outside a Walmart down here during a robbery on Friday night. Insane! I stayed home all day, I want no part of that stupidity.

  5. The problem is when a store advertises a ridiculously low price on a tiny quantity of a highly coveted item as a ploy to get people to come to the store. Disappointing that Wally World did not learn that lesson after someone was killed in a stampede at one of their stores in New York.

    I was not going to participate, but two factors intervened. My GPS unit started acting up severely immediately before I was about to leave on a long road trip last month. Not having much time to futz with it, I bought a new one out of desperation. Now I have two of them. I wanted to let my sister try one when she goes on her road trip to the big city next week since the unit receives traffic reports and can route her around delays. So I needed to find a mounting option well suited to her dashboard. The second thing was that some of my friends have been talking about the show The Big Bang Theory and said I would find it amusing. Best Buy had season 4 DVDs advertised for $9 and Wally World had the first four seasons at $10 each. That is about a third of the normal price. It would be much easier to catch up on my own time than to try to deal with the rerun schedule.

    First was Best Buy. They had some GPS mounting options, but nothing really great. After a bit of searching, I finally scored a copy of TBBT season 4. They were really busy; their too small parking lot was full and people had to park across the street and walk over.

    Next was Target because it was right there. Their selection is inconsistant at best and this one had squat. Too bad because the crowd was light and the lines short. They must all be at Best Buy…

    There are four Wal-Marts in this city, so I began a tour of them. Scored season 1 at the first one but they were out of the others. The lines were not too bad; this was late afternoon, so all of the great deals must all have been snatched up already.

    Small successes motivated me to keep trying. The other three stores had none. There must be some huge fans of the show in this town who cleaned them out. As I neared the highway interchange in the middle of town, I realized there was another Wal-Mart in a town about 15 miles away. That is close by Dallas standards, so I went for it. That town is a “college town” which I thought may have lots of fans of the show, but many of the students may be home for the long weekend. Eureka! I scored both seasons 2 and 3. Not only that, whenever I am at a Wally World I have never visited recently or at all, I always seek out the clearance section to see what they may be selling out. They had a small pile of 2GB micro SD cards that I can use, both in my hiking GPS and some microcontroller development boards. Best of all, there was no waiting at the register. When I told sister this story, she laughed, “They must all be in Amarillo shopping.” Yeah, at the Best Buy.

    So a lot of it is luck and a little bit of clever thinking.

    Bill

  6. I have seen this on other blogs as well. I don’t condone it, but I don’t see it as typical either (how many million went shopping in LA that day, and how many used violence?).
    I was disappointed, now that I can’t go outside, to find that ‘Black Friday’ had become ‘Black Friday Week’ starting seven days ahead in most large online stores, like Amazon. I agree that it promotes a culture of ‘more, more, more’.

    PS – I like the erotic vinyl pics, like torpedo breast vinyla and pussy vinyl. heh.

  7. Rip Ragged

    It occurs to me that “Black Friday” and “Fucked up priorities define modern American culture” don’t rhyme. They should.

  8. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    There seems to me – especially by my little video ‘Death by Shopping’ – that there is a multitude of people who agree with you & me, Cooper, about this disgusting display of human, so human behaviour, this Black Friday “event”. I really find it awful.

    I LOVE YOUR ANIMATIONS down the right hand side!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

