happy mother’s day

Me and Mom on the beach on Long Island. This had to be summer of 1957. What a fat faced little nipper I was….

My wedding dance with the mother of the groom. My wonderful expression was due to a headache that was leaking out of my eyes…Mom looked good, tho.

She loved reading to the grandkids…and they dug it just as much

The family at christmas including step-dad Bill ands Mom’s Mom – Nana Carlson (this was my other Nana – not the one from the previous post about toilets)

This is one of my favorite pictures. At Mom’s favorite place with Granddaughter Beth in her lap.

You’ve been gone for a while now, but I think of you every day. Happy Mother’s Day, Mom.

16 Comments

Filed under family

16 responses to “happy mother’s day

  1. Looks like your mother was truly motherly. That had to be fabulous. Then again, appearances are deceiving but she really does look like a doll!

    • was she a saint? No…throw the influence of my Dad in the mix and things get strange. But we had some good times and toward the end of her life I was able to put everything on the table, which brought us close.

  2. Beautiful post, Cooper. Tears in my eyes (which is why I couldn’t write a post about my (late) mom. Thanks for kind of doing it for me!

  3. oh my goodness, that first picture is so stinking cute i can’t stand it. i can see why you love the one of your mom and daughter at the beach. that really is a sweet shot. thanks for sharing. these are lovely.

  4. My family was so amazingly sweet and good to me today that I haven’t had much time to sit around getting teary but today and the last two Mother’s Days have been a bittersweet sort of occasion for me.

    Love the pictures at the beach— one of the best places in the world.

  5. I hope that when I go, Kira & Bella have this fond memory of me. I know that’s pretty morbid… but posts like this remind me of how I ought to be with them, so I am doing well by them.

    Lovely post coops.

  6. What a beautiful post.
    Such a great tribute to your mother…
    Hope your wife had a lovely Mother’s Day.

  7. Pingback: mother’s day | security is for cadavers

  8. Glad you redid this one, Cooper. May she have a happy Mother’s Day — maybe she’s spending it with mine!

Leave a Reply

