musRev – The End of The Day / The Separated Man / Reunion

During the Neal Morse days, Spock’s Beard grew into one of the best prog bands around, with the pinnacle of their creative output resting with the album called V (five).  Another cut from the album, entitled “The Great Nothing” is my favorite, a 27-minute opus with something for everyone that is arguably the finest piece they ever recorded.  “The End of The Day” runs a close second – plus there isn’t a version of “The Great Nothing” on YouTube.

Put on decent headphones or turn the speakers up….

The End of The Day

Earth – dancing ’round the fire
Come – meet the western sky
Life – walking on a wire
Reach – to know the reason why

At the end of the day
You’ll be lying in a suit of Grey
At the end of the day
You’ll be fine

They – won’t do you any favors
(‘Till the slate is clean)
You – you walk a lonely line
Slide – with punks and drunks and saviors
(In the big machine)
Down – you meet the rest of life

At the end of the day
It’s what you do not what you say
At the end of the day
You’ll be fine
At the end of the day
It doesn’t matter anyway
At the end of the day
You’ll be fine
You’ll be fine

Great wheel is broken – you’ve got no fortune left
Out of the sunlight – out of the great undead
And you can’t even sleep at night
And you literally curse each day
You could give or give back your life anyway

Concrete and jungle
They’ve stretched and hung you out
You can’t turn the clock back
It’s too late to turn back now
And you can’t even hold your own
And you feel like you’re all alone
And you never feel like you’re home anywhere

At the end of the day
There won’t be anymore
(So turn the world around)
At the end of the day
We’ll know what this was for
(As the sun keeps comin’ down)
At the end of the day
You won’t feel any pain
(As the sky begins to fall)
At the end of the day
You’ll be feeling right as rain
(As the veil reveals it all)

Lightning calls you
It’s time to go
Something keeps telling you
But you don’t want to know

Feel your heart like a window open slow
Say goodbye to the world that you know
At the end of the road

It begins, it believes and it sees for all time
She’s coming down my way
It is here, as it breathes and it sees for the blind
She’s holding me finally

You’ve been schooled
Had aggression in large amounts
Just be truthful
It’s everything that counts

There is no hand waiting that must be paid
We will leave our encores all unplayed
At the end of the day

It begins, it believes and it sees for all time
She’s coming down my way
It is here, as it breathes and it sees for the blind
She’s holding me finally

It begins, it believes and it blows me away
It is here, as it breathes at the end of the day
She’s coming down my way

It begins, as it ends and it won’t be unkind
She’s coming down my way
It is here, as it breathes and it eases my mind
Here it is finally
It begins, as it ends and it blows me away
It is here, as it lives at the end of the day
Here it is finally

Earth – dancing ’round the fire
Come – breathe the breath of life
Life – walking on a wire
Just – let it all in tonight

At the end of the day
It’s what you do not what you say
At the end of the day
You’ve got time
At the end of the day
You’ll be dreaming as you fly away
At the end of the day
You’ll be fine, you’ll be fine

Post Spock’s Beard, Neal went on to create a series of Christian inspired solo albums, most with Dream Theater’s former drummer Mike Portnoy.  My favorite of the lot is entitled One – the story of Man’s fall from God and God’s effort to bring Man back to a place of redemption.  My favorite track is “The Separated Man” – because I can relate so much to it and the music is outstanding.

The Separated Man

I- I’m in a Cage

As the dream floats by (‘neath the towering sky)
There’s a move to move me forward
But it only lasts ’til I fall on yesterday

With opinions thrown (like the crowd’s first stone)
And the world of men is nowhere
I have a sense of freedom but it feels so far away

‘Cause I’m in a cage (of my own making)
I never wanted to be this way
I’m in a cage (my heart is breaking)
But I’ll tough it out today

I could move way in (I could move way out)
I could move all the way to Cairo
“But someone would be there; someone that I know too well”

I wanna change my mind (wanna change my heart)
I just need some relief but I know
That it just won’t come, that is as long as I’m myself

‘Cause I’m in a cage (of my own making)
I never wanted to be this way
I’m in a cage (my heart is breaking)
But I’ll tough it out today

I’m in a cage (of my own making)
And now I forgot what the reason is
I’m in a cage (the toll’s been taking)
But I guess that’s all there is….

There’s a reason why the storm is raging
There’s a reason why you feel alone (the man’s gone to make his way alone)
There’s a reason why your soul’s been caged in
Can’t you feel your need to come back home? (the man’s gone)
Feel your need to come back home (the man’s gone)
Feel your need to come back home

II- I am the Man

I can’t see your throne
So I will build my own
I’ll build it high and tall
The world will see I don’t need YOU
At all

Look how far I’ve come
The poor abandoned son
My cities scrape to the sky
I believe in myself
I believe that I can fly….fly…

FLY HIGH!

I am what I say I am
I am the man

If I don’t like the deal
I’ll invent what’s real
If this creates some confusion
I just need a bigger and better illusion

I am what I say I am
I am the man

One hope
One life
One eternal fact
You’re a
Part of me
And I want you back

One hope
One life
One eternal soul
One hand
Reaching
All is ever whole
And you won’t find me
By living
For the flesh
‘Til you come home
I won’t let you rest

III- The Man’s Gone (Reprise)

The man’s gone he doesn’t need a thing
The man’s gone to crown himself as king

The man’s gone to make is way alone
The man’s gone to make is way alone
The man’s gone to turn his heart to stone
The man’s gone to make is way alone

IV- Something Within Me Remembers

But something within me remembers
But something within me remembers
But something within me remembers
Deep within my heart
I remember the feeling together
When everything was part of my world
And I was part of everything
I felt a child of the King

And just to wrap things up (you had nothing better to do, right?) the finale from One, entitled “Reunion”.  Sorry the final fade out is cut off.  This piece has some great fills from Portnoy and is full of hope and joy…

Reunion

Now there is no separation
Standing in the culmination
Of the very love we’ve never known

Now that we are back together
Striving to be one forever
Let this be the time we call our own

One mind learning one, two, three
One voice singing ecstasy
One heart changing full and free
One love forging unity

Now the way is open for us
A sacrifice made to restore us
To be bring us back the way we used to be

As we once were in the garden
Through his son he gave the pardon
Now we can come back as priests and kings!

Chorus

One mind learning one, two, three
One voice singing ecstasy
One heart changing full and free
One love forging unity
It will be……oh my God…

II- Grand Finale

III- Make Us One

One heart
One voice
One love
One spirit

On our knees with open arms we worship in one spirit

Make us one

Precious Father
Make us one
Make us one
Make us one

2 Comments

Filed under music

2 responses to “musRev – The End of The Day / The Separated Man / Reunion

  1. Loved the End of the Day — I played it while catching up on all the blogs I haven’t gotten to. Terrific song!

Leave a Reply

