{booker}

tho only place to be

Elyse has bestowed an honor on my head.  Most people want to bestow rotten tomatoes or a two by four on my head.  Nonetheless…

Not living in the real word is a speciality.  It’s funny how obvious that character defect trait is to the world.
So..now I’m supposed to list my five favorite books.

Only five??????  This is a true challenge.  That’s like picking only five ice cream flavors or eating only five caramel filled Dove chocolates.  But I will give it my best shot…

Invisible Man – Ralph Ellison – Ellison’s beautiful writing captivated me from the very start.
Skinny Legs & All – Tom Robbins – There is so much going on in this story.  What can you say about a book whose main characters are a fork and a spoon?
The Fountainhead – Ayn Rand – yeah I know – the tea party’s poster child.  politics and philosophy aside, she was a damn good story-teller, and while Atlas was herculean in scope, I always liked The Fountainhead better.
Gravity’s Rainbow – Thomas Pynchon – This book just fascinates the hell out of me.  One of the first books I read with a dictionary by my side.
The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald –  The first book i read cover to cover in one sitting.  All the film versions have been horrible but I love the prose.

ARRRGGGGHHHH…I can’ do just 5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lamb – Christopher Moore – no book has made me laugh more than this one.
Of the 700-plus books i’ve read in my life picking five is next to impossible.  There are over eighty that I gave five stars to on Goodreads.  I’m sure I’ve insulted many an author with my selection.  Such is the way of things.

Now..I’m supposed to do some award bestowing of my own on some unsuspecting blog bookies…

Lime
Logo
Book Babe
Good Greatsby
Mimi Writes

6 Comments

Filed under Books

6 responses to “{booker}

  1. Damn you’re fast! And a couple that I haven’t read. I’m sure that as a Gatsby fan you’ve read The Gold Coast by Nelson DeMille and the sequel the Gate House. Loads of fun.

  2. you can’t do just five and yet you’re condemning me to the same constraints! arrrg!!!! lamb is in deed a brilliant and hilarious book.

  3. I sorta kinda did it in five… after a fashion.
    :p

Leave a Reply

