it’s the most wonderful time of the year…

…which brings to mind the passing this week of Andy Williams who, for me, will always mean Christmas.  Aside from being one of the best vocalists of his age, he always exhibited a quiet,quirky sense of humor that made his variety and Christmas shows fun to watch.  His Christmas album is my second favorite holiday album and my most favorite traditional album (A Charlie Brown Xmas will always be my favorite). Mr. Williams certainly left an indelible mark on this world.  His voice and humor will be missed.

The title of this post, however, is in direct reference to the annual county library book sale, which always takes place at the end of September/beginning of October.  As many books as one can fit in a standard grocery store paper bag for one price.  The first week of the sale its $5 a bag, the next week $2 and the last week $1.  This was the $1 week and I was able to snag ten hardcovers and six paperbacks, although I felt a little guilty cramming so many books in a single bag so I gave them two dollars.  Big spender, I know.  I’m fairly certain I haven’t hit all the books I’ve hauled from previous years and my to-read shelf is overflowing as it is.  Maybe I should open my own library branch….

8 Comments

Filed under Books, celebrities, life

8 responses to “it’s the most wonderful time of the year…

  1. Andy’s is my second favorite too, after Bing Crosby’s White Christmas. What a wonderful voice.

    And all the books you can carry in a bag for $1 — what a bargain. Although lately I’ve been trying to get rid of books; maybe we can make a deal.

    • It’s my one remaining collection vice. I used to have thousands of LPs as well but i’ve been slowly digitizing them and have whittled those down to a couple hundred. I have an e-reader but I just like having a physical book in my hands. Just too tactile I guess. (Most) anything you want to send my way…we can work out a deal…barter? I can digitize albums, slides, photos…I also used to have a home bakery business and make THE best chocolate chip cookies and brownies…..:>)

  2. Oooh … Andy … I couldn’t agree more, his voice IS Christmas. I saw his Christmas show about 9 years ago and there I was, with all the blue hairs, swooning and singing along.

    Our library sale is this weekend! Good to know I am not the only one jamming books in the $2 bag!! Don’t you feel a little bit like a kid in a candy store? I do !!
    MJ

    • Always! Could easily grab 2 or 3 bagfuls but i try to show some restraint for the sake of my marriage and for fear of not winding up as an episode of Horders.

  3. was sorry to hear of his passing. his voice was indeed the voice of christmas. not long ago he was on npr’s “wait, wait, don’t tell me” and he was a complete stitch.

    our library used book sale is always a dangerous place for me to go. my family finds my stacks of books, which now encroach on a significant sized corner of the living room, to be quite disturbing.guess i should open a branch too. well, ok, i admit…in my unemployment i have considered cataloguing my collection….

  4. Back when I earned a living (same job but 33% more income), I’d buy books, read them and donate to the county library. I’ve donated thousands (counting the 500+ in “inherited” from a friend’s dad). It makes me feel good to know that I’ve contributed. That library blows. Like they only have about 8 Stephen King books. They are THAT under-inventoried.

Leave a Reply

