November 22 1963

I was in second grade.  It was warm for late November, warm enough that my class took our recess time outside, romping around the swing sets, slides and seesaws.  The late fall sun cast long shadows across Wilson School’s red brick face.  I was within earshot of our teacher, Mrs. Hutchinson.  Andy, the elder janitor at Wilson School, a tall, bulky man with ice white hair who always said hi to me – and I expect many other kids as well (it was like having a grandfather at school all the time) was suddenly standing next to our teacher.  I don’t remember him walking onto the playground, he was just there all of a sudden.  A look of worry creased his craggy face.  That struck me as odd because he was always smiling. “The President has been shot,” he said.  My memory stops right at that moment, the rest of the school day is a total blank, until I get home later that day and walk in the door.  “Did you hear the President was shot?” I asked my Mom.  Just in case the news had not traveled that far off the school grounds yet.

The other vivid memory I have is of the funeral.  I went outside, while my parents remained glued to the black and white TV, and there was not a single sound.  No kids were playing, no cars were chugging on the street – I swear even the birds had stopped chirping. Total and complete silence.  It was as if the world had stopped, sleeping – resting up for the events of a tumultuous decade yet to come.

5 Comments

Filed under america

5 responses to “November 22 1963

  1. I was 6 in the first grade. I remember an announcement coming over the classroom speaker and was watching my teacher Mrs. Kemp looking at the speaker and crying. I couldn’t fully comprehend at that moment what had actually happened, I certainly did by time I got home. It was everything you’ve already detailed Coop the day of the funeral.

    I remember the sombering silence as if the earth had frozen still. It would be a time in history with the murder of Bobby 5 years later that as far as I’m concerned changed history for the worst from those moments on.

    You still wonder…what could have been.

    • It’s an interesting thought process – and of course there’s been tons of speculative fiction about “what if”. But it wasn’t – and all we’ve got is what was…and where we’ve come from. I have less vivid memories of Bobby’s and MLK’s assassination.

  2. your last paragraph is the one i find illuminating. thanks.

  3. I was four at the time. All I remember was Dad coming home from work and discussing with Mom that “someone attacked the president.”

    Bill

Leave a Reply

